Life

Need for Speed

Ferrari 612 Scaglietti (Tour China, 2005)

1:18 scale : (defined by Wikipedia) a traditional scale (ratio) for models and miniatures, in which 18 units (such as inches or centimeters) on the original is represented by one unit on the model. The scale is used for 1:18 scale diecast replica automobile models, military vehicles, armor, and aircraft.

It’s still so fresh in my memory how I felt when I bought my  first 1:18 diecast car model collection. There was excitement and sense of satisfaction. When I was pulling it out from it’s box, it felt like I’m opening a precious gem I had never acquired in my entire life. I am literally holding a race car on my palm.

But, how I got hooked into this kind of hobby is another story.

My brother influenced me to start collecting diecast car models. He got his first 1:18 when he was around 8 years old. A gasoline station in the Philippines started releasing diecast Ferrari models in the late 90s, which only cost around P350 that time. My Dad brought home this new toy for him one evening and that changed his life. How much does his Ferrari F50 cost today? Around P1,500 bucks.

I’m sure car enthusiasts and hobbyists like us would understand why we are spending a lot to buy these toys. At first, I couldn’t fathom why my brother would rather choose not to buy a new pair of pants and kept on wearing his old, ragged jeans. He would save up his money to buy another of his collection. But that perspective changed, when Scaglietti came. Then followed by a Dodge Viper, a Ferrari 575 GTC and I could go on.

I started collecting diecast cars in July 2008. To date, I have seven 1:18s which are neatly tucked in their shelves and regularly cleaned.

Other hobbyists believe that when you take out your collected item from a box, it loses its market value. My brother and I believed otherwise.

We don’t believe that it loses its market value, because it was nevertheless, a priceless possession.

Leave a Reply

