Life

Dan Brown, reading, and all things in between

Five books in four months. Great. So, I’m reading at least a book per month.

I started this year with high hopes of reading more and writing more about the books I read and some other things to get my rusty writing skills back on trail. I still haven’t finished Dan Brown’s Robert Langdon series, The Lost Symbol, so I still couldn’t start that book article on  Brown’s The Da Vinci Code, Angels and Demons, and The Lost Symbol. I know it’s rather out of hype and too late to be writing a review on these novels but I wanted to take on a different perspective in looking at Brown’s suspense-thriller series which got the world talking and asking. I know it’s a bad habit to be excusing myself but unless you’re not ironing your own clothes, cooking your dinner, studying, and spending enough time with your spouse in one of the busiest places in Asia, you probably won’t understand. Of course, it’s still not an excuse to be missing what I promised myself to do. And it’s the worst feeling, cheating yourself to thinking you are too busy to read or to write or to run when you can check your Facebook account every two hours, Tweet that you just had chicken briyani for lunch, and upload a photo on Instagram. Clearly, there has got to be something wrong going on here. Can anyone help me?

When I used to stay in the east and travelling takes me 1 hour and 45 minutes to get to the office every morning, I can manage to finish a book in a week. Not bad for a slow reader like me huh? But moving so close to the office 2 years ago and having a worse case of motion sickness limits my time of reading. I’m thankful for those days when I fall sick. I can catch up on my reading and enjoy that time to just reflect or write something. I admit I can get attached to my laptop or to the TV as soon as I get home, I also love our bed so much I can sleep for 10 hours straight during weekends, but who doesn’t?

I’ve read several articles on time management and I’m telling you I’m not the best person to talk about it. But I do know that when you really want something to be done, you gotta push yourself to do it. Before having an overdue pile of books to read, I was even worse. I was unproductive. I wasn’t writing, I wasn’t reading, I wasn’t doing photography, I wasn’t running marathons, but somehow, my time flew by so fast. I realized one day that a lot of those times have been wasted. Wasted on what? That I do not know and I cannot even recall.

I told myself I’ve got to do something. I was feeling insecure and self-pity started creeping in. I’m not growing, professionally and personally. That’s when I told myself I needed to study again. I’m thankful that my hubby was really very supportive about it. So now, I still have that pile of books waiting to be read, but that can wait for my free days when I’m done with analyzing why a Colgate shampoo didn’t work in Indonesia, why Malaysia doesn’t allow foreigners in their commercial ads, or what would happen if McDonald’s changed its logo from yellow to black.

PS. I still have that pending Dan Brown novels write up but at least my library is growing.

Leave a Reply

