Food

Recipe #5: Thai Green Curry Chicken

20131112-212614.jpg

I won’t forget the first time I tasted this dish. One of my colleagues back then recommended a Thai restaurant in Makati. At that time, I didn’t know that Dusit Thani, famous as it is until today, has a well-known Thai cuisine restaurant. I remembered exactly how I had underestimated this place. The restaurant, nestled at the heart of Glorietta mall, will not wow you with intricate interiors unlike other casual dining places. It looked old and dodgy to me honestly, but their authentic Thai food will make you forget that you’re eating in a place that almost looked like aย carenderiaย (a local term for canteen). I’m not fond of curries because of the strong smell and spicy taste, but having tried Thai green curry has made me a fan ever since. So whenever I get a chance to eat in a Thai restaurant, whether local or overseas, I always have high hopes for this particular dish. So here’s my take on one of my favourite Asian dishes.

Ingredients:

5-8 cloves garlic
2 medium-sized onions
fresh basil leaves (my first harvest from my little herb garden)
4 large potatoes
2 medium-sized eggplants
2 teaspoon fish sauce
400g Thai green curry paste (melted in 1/2 cup water)
450ml coconut milk
1 kilo chicken (I prefer thighs and legs, they’re tastier)
Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:
1. Saute garlic and onions, fish sauce. Put in chicken and let simmer until lightly brown.
2. Pour coconut milk, green curry paste, and potatoes. Simmer in low fire for 30 minutes.
3. Add in eggplants and basil leaves.

Makes 8-10 servings

Leave a Reply

